The Red Box Blog

Ramblings about D&D.

My Life In Polyhedrons – The 66ave Campaign

The longest, most memorable, and most fun D&D game I have ever been a part of was the one that started in the fall of 1987 and ran for almost two years.

By that time I had made friends with Brian and Joel, who lived on the same street as my new house. Warren continued to brave the elements and come over almost every day, while Jamie was an occasional guest as was Joel’s younger brother Dave. As with the previous campaign, I was the DM, though I did still have characters in the game, and there were a very small number of adventures run by the other players.

The sheer number of characters we had in that campaign was insane. We had a good sized party that made it all the way up to name level, but then both the thieves died. So we made a whole new group and played them all the way up to name level (plus during the interim the two dead thieves were raised), giving us an absolutely crazy number of characters to choose from.

We played a lot of adventures during those two years (we were at times playing every day, meaning we would go through a full sized adventure every week). Most memorably, we played through the Slave Lord series, we hijacked the Dragon Lance series (ie inserted our characters), and we cleaned out Castle Greyhawk. For the most part the adventures we played were all for AD&D 1st Edition.

One thing we did differently that made a huge difference was that we started using Lego for miniatures. While this was a nice addition from a tactical standpoint (didn’t use any minis before that), the surprising thing was how much it added to role playing. Joel and Brian being three years younger than Warren and I were still very much into action figure type playing. As a result it was very common for us to be using the Lego figures to pretend to be the characters even when the game wasn’t going on. There were even important character development moments that happened in the absence of the player whose character it was (we weren’t picky about who owned what character when we were goofing around with the Lego figures)

Perhaps even more surprisingly, considering our young age (and being all boys), was that this game had romantic subplots, though they only surfaced during the aforementioned Lego sessions, not when actually gaming.

Despite being the longest game I have ever been part of, it may have gone on even longer but for a very strange happenning in September 1989. After school started that fall it seemed everytime I called Joel or Brian’s house I would be told they were not available. After more than two weeks of being unable to reach either one of them Warren and I went over to Joel’s to find out what was going on. Joel’s mother finally let us in on what had happenned – Joel and Brian’s parents had decided that since Warren and I were now in high school it was inappropriate for Joel and Brian to be around us. I’ve never been able to figure out why it was OK for us to hang out went it was two junior high students and two elementary students, but not OK when it would have been two high school students and two junior high students. But whatever twisted logic gave rise to this sudden parting of ways, it was made very clear to us that we were never to speak to Joel and Brian again – so without any warning two of my best friends were ripped from my life; I never saw or spoke to either of them again (I don’t even know if they know what we were told). Thus ended a game where they were 2 of the 3 regular players.

November 20, 2010 - Posted by | My Life in Polyhedrons, RPGs | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] that gaming has never offered me. When I was in junior high I had an AD&D campaign that lasted close to 2 years, but since then I have not had a game last even […]

    Pingback by The Struggle for Campaign Contiuity « The Red Box Blog | December 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

