The Red Box Blog

Ramblings about D&D.

Hey Wizards, Since You’re Going Retro… (Part 4)

Since Wizards of the Coast has been releasing a whole bunch of retro themed products I thought I would throw my ideas out there for retro products that definitely could get my money. (click here if you missed parts 1, 2 or 3)

Long before there were blogs TSR produced a number of books that were little more than helpful advice for DMs. To be honest the content in them rarely had anything to do with the games I ran, but they were so well written it was a pleasure to read through them. I probably spent more time actually reading (as opposed to referencing) the old gray books than any other gaming books, ever.

Useful? Maybe. A good read? Absolutely.

I don’t know how much it cost to make the gray books, or if they were profitable, so I don’t know how realistic it would be to bring them back. But I do know another product, that also was more about the pleasure of reading, which Wizards could bring back very easily…

I loved Dragon - when it was hardcopy.

I get why Dragon went digital, it was a combination of it suffering the ills all magazine are suffering and Wizards wanting to lure subscribers to their online service. But with everything in place already, why not also sell hard-copies? They could continue to fund the writing staff with the online subscription, and charge a premium over and above the online costs to those who, like me, would gladly pay extra to get a copy in hand. Surely a magazine that has its writing costs already covered and sells only based on subscription could find a way to make a profit.

So how about it Wizards? How about going retro and selling me some hard copies of good advice?

October 29, 2010 - Posted by | 4E, Dungeons and Dragons, RPGs | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. i would totally pay for a hard copy even though I have access with my subscription. I find reading a paper product more enjoyable than digital copies of things.

    I also wish they produced more “fluff” books as well as I also find them enjoyable to read and good for ideas, but I have heard they are not as profitable as more “crunchy” based books.

    Comment by middleagedm | October 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

