The Red Box Blog

Ramblings about D&D.

My Life in Polyhedrons – Prologue

I have been playing rpgs for two thirds of my life. There has been nothing in my life that has been around as consistently in the past 24 years as gaming. (not even a person I am sad to say) Even when I have been on breaks from gaming, there has always been a longing in my heart for more; and again, the same cannot be said of anything else. So it seems to me quite logical to take a long look at my life in gaming.

I have been thinking about writing this for a while now but keep getting put off by the simple fact that I can’t imagine that anyone other than myself would enjoy reading it; perhaps it is a bit egotistical to think that anyone enjoys anything that I write, but the fact that this project will be much longer and far more narcissitic than most of my writing has given me pause. Despite my fears, I feel I really need to write this for my own sake, and so this note you are reading right now is my compromise – I will be warning you of exactly what to expect in future.

I will start the title of every one of this series “My Life in Polyhedrons”; that way anyone who wants to avoid them can do so easily. As implied by the title, this series is going to be about my experiences playing Dungeons and Dragons and other similar games. Conceivably I will drift into tangental topics in time, but for the most part I will be sticking to table top rpgs.

To begin with I will be writing chronologically. If I keep this series up long enough that aspect will have to break down in time. But for starters I will be looking at things as they happenned.

So that’s what I am going to do. You have been warned.

September 11, 2010 - Posted by | My Life in Polyhedrons, RPGs

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

